K V Reddy 108th Birth Anniversary Today

Published On: July 1, 2020   |   Posted By:

K V Reddy 108th Birth Anniversary Today

Kadiri Venkata Reddy, a popular writer, director and producer who started his career in Early Telugu Cinema. K V Reddy born at Tadipathri Village in Ananthapur district of Andhra Pradesh on 1st July 1912.

Today is his 108th Birthday.

On the day of his 108th Birth anniversary of this great director, Businessoftollywood.com salutes at this great personality of Tollywood.

He was a science graduate from Madras. Worked in Vahini Studios prior to his entry in to Telugu Cinema. Bhaktha Pothana was the first movie for K V Reddy as director.

Pathala Bhairavi, Pedda Manusulu, Mayabazar, Pellinati Pramanalu, Jagadeka Veeruni Katha, Sathya Harischandra, Sri Krishnarjuna Yuddham and Sri Krishna Sathya are the master pieces of K V Reddy as director. Mayabazar is an evergreen movie of K V Reddy which was very recently converted in to color and was released all over.

He was an expert in preparing script and scene wise picturisation.

K V Reddy as director and B Nagi Reddy as producer are responsible in making super hits Pathala Bharavi, Mayabazar, Jagadeka Veeruni Katha, Sathya Harischandra (NTR), Uma Chandi Gauri Sanakarula Katha.

List of film of K V Reddy as director:

  1. Bhakthapothana (1942)
  2. Yogivemana (1947)
  3. Gunasundari Katha (1949)
  4. Pathalabhairavi (1951)
  5. Peddamanushulu (1954)
  6. Donga Ramudu (1955)
  7. Mayabazar (1957)
  8. Pellinati Pramanalu (1959)
  9. Jagadekaveeruni Katha (1961)
  10. Sri Krishnarjuna Yuddham (1962)
  11. Sathya Harishchandra (1965)
  12. Umachandi Gowrisankarula Katha (1968)
  13. Bhagyachakram (1968)
  14. Srikrishna Sathya (1972)


1.National Film Award as best Regional Telugu Movie in the year 1955 for his movie Peddamanushulu

2.National Film Award as best Regional Telugu Movie in the year 1958 for his movie Pellinatipramanalu

3. Filmfare Award (South-1972) as best director for the movie Srikrishna Sathya.

It is quite surprising to state that this great director of early Telugu cinema not honored with any awards like Raghupathi Venkaiah, NTR National or Phalke Award.

This great director of early Telugu Cinema died on 15th September 1972.